List of State Universities in Nigeria – NIGERIA STATE UNIVERSITIES

List of State Universities in Nigeria – NIGERIA STATE UNIVERSITIES: The University of Ibadan, Nigeria’s premier university, was founded as a College of the University of London in January 1948 following the Elliot Commission Report 6.
list of state universities in nigeria and their cut off mark, list of state universities in nigeria and their school fees, best state university in nigeria, list of polytechnics in nigeria, list of public universities in nigeria, list of federal universities in nigeria and their school fees, state universities in nigeria that accept second choice, list of private universities in nigeria
In 1962, it became separate from the University of London and thereby transformed into a full-fledged University of Ibadan.
Nevertheless, in anticipation of the requirements especially for the production of manpower for the soon-to-be independent nation of Nigeria, the government set up an 8-man Higher Education Commission chaired by Eric Ashby in 1959 “to carry out an investigation into the needs of Nigeria over the next 20 years in the field of post-school certificates and higher education.”

In a comprehensive report submitted in 1960, the Commission noted the need to extend the location of universities and proposed the development of a university in Lagos, then the capital of Nigeria, and one in each of the three regions as it was then, integrating the then established Nigerian Colleges of Arts, Science and Technology7.

Four universities were founded between 1960 and 1962, namely the University of Nigeria, Nsukka; the University of Ife, Ile Ife; the University of Ahmadu Bello, Zaria, and the University of Lagos, Lagos, partly in response to these recommendations.

Of these, only that the federal government was formed in Lagos, the others came into existence on Acts of Parliament passed by their respective regional governments, while all the universities were eventually handed over to the federal government.

The number of universities in Nigeria has now risen to 120, with the three most recent ones set up in January 2013 by the federal government in Gashua, Yobe Province, Birini kebi, Kebbi State, and Gusau, Zamfara State. Of these, the federal government owns 39, state governments own 36, and private individuals and organizations own 45.

These universities are part of the Nigerian University System (NUS) and their operations are organized by the Commission of National Universities (NUC) in compliance with some aspects of the Ashby Commission Recommendation 7.

List of State Universities in Nigeria
We have published the List of Federal Universities in Nigeria and decided to also list out the List of State Universities in Nigeria, these will help students seeking admission, students in the various universities and graduates alike to get the latest information.

It will also help Jambites who are not sure which is a State or Federal Universities.

You can access the Full list of the Federal Universities in Nigeria Here and do share it with our friends.

List of State Universities in Nigeria

Theses Universities has been approved by the National University Commission, NUC


1. Abia State University, Uturu
2. Adamawa State University Mubi
3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba
4. Akwa Ibom State University of Technology, Uyo
5. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
6. Anambra State University of Science & Technology, Uli
7. Bauchi State University, Gadau
8. Benue State University, Makurdi
9. Bukar Abba Ibrahim University, Damaturu
10. Cross River State University of Science &Technology, Calabar
11. Delta State University Abraka
12. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
13. Ekiti State University
14. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
15. Gombe State Univeristy, Gombe Professor Abdullahi Mahadi
16. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai
17. Ignatius Ajuru University of Education,Rumuolumeni
18. Imo State University, Owerri
19. Kaduna State University, Kaduna
20. Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil
21. Kebbi State University, Kebbi
22. Kogi State University Anyigba
23. Kwara State University, Ilorin
24. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
25. Lagos State University Ojo, Lagos
26. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
27. Niger Delta Unversity, Yenagoa
28. Northwest University, Kano
29. Olabisi Onabanjo University Ago-Iwoye
30. Ondo State University of Science & Technology, Okitipupa
31. Osun State University, Oshogbo
32. Plateau State University, Bokkos
33. Rivers State University of Science & Technology
34. Sokoto State University, Sokoto
35. Tai Solarin Univ. of Education, Ijebu-Ode
36. Taraba State University, Jalingo
37. Technical University, Ibadan
38. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina.

That is it on the List of State Universities in Nigeria – NIGERIA STATE UNIVERSITIES. I hope this article was helpful. Kindly share it with your friends and loved ones!!!

Facebook Comments Box

I hope this post was helpful? show your support by sharing these articles to your friends who might need it on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram using the share button below.

Copyright & Warning: Published contents on this blog may not be reproduced, republished, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgment.

The contents on this site is written and published with good intentions. If you own this content and believe that your copyright was violated or infringed, please contact us via [admin(at)] to file a complaint and actions will be taken with an immediate effect.

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top