How to Deactivate Facebook Account Temporarily

0
889

 

You can decide to deactivate your Facebook temporarily or better still delete Facebook account permanently? Though we agree that Facebook is the easiest way to keep in touch with our loved ones, we may be biased by thinking in the same direction.

Facebook can be annoying sometimes especially when it comes to millions of people posting absurd text and sending unwanted messages, a Facebook advert is not left out because it creates a scenario which some Facebook users do not want to see and even makes the platform load slowly on most low-end devices.

The issue of Facebook users privacy where certain privacy agreement is not meet and thousands of other users are poking into your privacy, checking your profile and Facebook refuses to alert or notify who they are is also another thing most users consider.

 

Recommended: How to Block or Unblock Facebook Friends

 

It may also be that you have multiple Facebook accounts and you wish to reduce it to just one so your friends can reach you without having to browse through all your multiple accounts or ultimately.

It could also be because you are just too busy and wants time off Facebook, well we will show you how to deactivate Facebook temporarily in this guide.

Though Facebook is unarguably the biggest social media network with over 1.71 billion users. Even though it is very popular, there might come a time when you want to deactivate Facebook account or you just want to know what it feels like to deactivate Facebook account temporarily.

In today’s article, we will treat how you can deactivate your account temporarily.

So how do you go about this your decision to deactivate your Facebook account, below are the basics steps to follow;

If that’s not what you want, then maybe you want to delete Facebook account permanently. Is there a difference between deleting your Facebook account permanently and deactivating it temporarily?

Here are some of the major differences between deleting your Facebook account and deactivating it .
When you delete, you can not reactivate your account: This means the account is gone forever but when you deactivate it, you can always reactivate it.

When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves some records but when you delete it, it is gone permanently.So now that you know the major differences, let me show you the process to follow if you want to deactivate your account. For those you prefer to watch, you can jump to the video directly.

5 Steps to take to deactivate Facebook Account Temporarily

STEP 1:

Log in to the Facebook account you want to delete. It could be a page or a personal account.

STEP 2:

To Deactivate Facebook account, Click the account menu at the top right of any Facebook page

STEP 3:

Select Settings

STEP 4:

Click Security in the left column

STEP 5:

Choose Deactivate your account, then follow the steps to confirm.

If you chose to deactivate your Facebook account, be sure to note that followings:

  1. Your account won’t be visible to other people on Facebook as people won’t be able to search for you.
  2. Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, might still be visible to others.
  3. You can reactivate whenever you want to. This is because Facebook will save some information like friend’s list, things and places you express interest in

Similarly, you can use this link shortcut https://web.facebook.com/deactivate to temporarily deactivate your account on Facebook.

FAQ’s of Deactivating Facebook Account

How do I temporarily deactivate my Facebook account?

Click at the top right of any Facebook page. Click Settings, then click Your Facebook Information in the left column. Click Deactivation and Deletion. Choose Deactivate Account, then click Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.

What happens when you deactivate your account on Facebook?

Deactivating your Facebook account does not completely delete it. When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isn’t gone—it’s just hidden from users.

How do I deactivate Facebook on my phone?

On Mobile, follow the steps below to temporarily disable your account.

  • Tap in the top right.
  • Scroll down and tap Settings.
  • Scroll down and tap Account Ownership and Control under Your Facebook Information.
  • Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
  • Select Deactivate Account and tap Continue to Account Deactivation.
  • Follow the instructions to confirm.

Can someone find you on Facebook if you deactivate your account?

While your Facebook account is deactivated, people using Facebook cannot see you when they search for you, but some information like messages that you’ve sent may still be visible to others.

Can you deactivate Facebook and still use messenger?

If you’ve deactivated your account and you use Messenger, it doesn’t reactivate your Facebook account. Your friends will only be able to contact you via the Messenger app or the chat window on Facebook

Can you be tagged after deactivating Facebook?

No, they can’t tag your account when it is deactivated. They won’t get your name on the list when they type in @. However, they can tag your name. Only your name would appear in the photo, not your deactivated account

How many times can you deactivate Facebook?

Don’t worry, there is no limit to the number of times you can deactivate and reactivate your account. Facebook Says: “You may deactivate your account for any number of temporary reasons. This option gives you the flexibility to leave and come back whenever you want.

Will anyone know if I reactivate my Facebook?

When you rejoin Facebook, Facebook doesn’t post a message to your Timeline announcing that you’ve reactivated your account. No notification goes on your friends’ News Feeds. Your account will not display any posts for the time that your account was gone, but you can start posting again as soon as you sign in.

What will my friends see if I deactivate Facebook?

When you deactivate your Facebook account, Facebook does not send out any notification whatsoever. Your friends won’t know that you’ve deactivated your account unless they try to search for your now-deactivated profile or they ask you in the real world.

I hope this guide was helpful? Have you ever deactivated your Facebook account before? Why? Let us hear from you how and why you deactivated your Facebook account.

 

Please share this guide!

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply