Countries Without Letter A – 31 Nations Lacking Letter “A” in Their Name


Countries Without Letter A – 31 Nations Lacking the Letter “A” in Their Name!

Out of about the 195 countries in the world, 193 countries are members of the United Nations. Holy See and Palestine, the other two are regarded as non-member observer state. Of the 193 countries, fifty-four (54) countries are situated in Africa, forty-four (44) in Asia, forty-six (46) in Europe, thirty-five (35) in America, and fourteen (14) in Oceania. Except for a few countries like North and South Korea, most of the countries have distinctive names. Some things are known in the naming convention of most countries and some countries are named based on the following: land feature, tribe name, the geography of the country, or an important personality. One common element of all these names is the letter “A” which appears in all but thirty-one (31) countries. Here are some of the countries in this category.

Posts Contribution:
We at BuzzFeedNg are lovers of great contents; we accept posts contribution that are honest and related to the topics that we cover here on Kindly send your post to us via [admin(at)] or [coolieecoldex(at)] and we will publish free of charge.

Continue reading below;



Every nation around the world is identified by its unique name. Some names are long, while others are short. Some nations have names made up of two words. And others, like the ones in these lists, are missing a specific letter. In this case, that letter is “a.”

There are plenty of countries that have the letter “a” at least once in their names – the United States of America, Canada, and China, for example. There are just 33 nations in the world that don’t contain this letter in their name.

It is important to note that many of the countries on this list do not contain the letter “a” in their names that are commonly used but may have the letter in their official name. For example, Egypt does not contain this letter, but its official name – the Arab Republic of Egypt – does.

Africa has the most countries lacking the letter “a” with a total of 12. These countries include:

Countries Without Letter a in Their Names by Region

Out of 195 countries, only 31 country names do not have the letter A in them. Of these, 12 are in Africa, 10 are in Europe, 4 are in Asia, 4 are in the Americas, and 1 is in Oceania. These countries include Belgium, Brunei, Chile, Cyprus, Djibouti, and Turkey.

Which Countries Don’t Have the Letter A in Their Names?

Countries in Africa

Of the 33 countries without letter A in their name, 12 are in Africa. These countries include Benin, Burundi, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Lesotho, Morocco, Niger, Seychelles, and Togo. Notably, some of these countries like Morocco would contain letter A if the name is written in French (Maroc). Also, Congo is included as the longer Republic of the Congo also does not contain the letter A, whereas the neighboring country is not included as it is known as the Democratic Republic of Congo which has letter A. Interestingly, the Republic of Cote d’Ivoire does not have letter A in its official name but has it in its English name, Ivory Coast.

Countries in Europe

Ten countries in Europe do not have letter A in their names. These countries include Belgium, Czech Republic, Greece, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Sweden, Turkey, and the United Kingdom. However, the United Kingdom will be removed from this lift if the official name (the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) is used since both Great Britain and Ireland contain the letter A. Interestingly, most of the capital cities of these countries also do not include the letter A. These cities include Brussels (Belgium), London (UK), Stockholm (Sweden), and Luxembourg City (Luxembourg).


Countries in Asia

Four countries in Asia do not contain the letter A. These include Brunei, Cyprus, Timor-Leste, Yemen. Cyprus and Yemen are generally considered part of the Middle East region in western Asia while Brunei and Timor-Leste are located in eastern Asia. While Timor-Leste does not contain the letter A, both its official name (the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste) and its English name (East-Timor) contain the letter A.

Countries in the Americas

There are four countries in the Americas that do not include the letter A. These are Mexico in North America, Belize in Central America, and Chile, and Peru in South America. Belize was originally excluded from the list of countries without letter A since it was known as British Honduras.

Countries in Oceania

Of the 14 countries in Oceania, only one does not include the letter A. Fiji, officially the Republic of Fiji is an island country of the coast of New Zealand.

Are the Official Names Different?

Although there are 31 countries without the letter A in their name, a good number of these countries have letter A in their official name. For instance, the official name of Mexico is the United Mexican States while Egypt and Luxembourg are officially known as the Arab Republic of Egypt and Grand Duchy of Luxembourg respectively. Liechtenstein is known as the Principality of Liechtenstein while Brunei is known as the Nation of Brunei, the Abode of Peace. In addition, most of these counties have letter A in their home language.

Countries Without Letter “A” in Their Name

Rank List of Countries That Do Not Contain The Letter “A”
1 Belgium
2 Belize
3 Benin
4 Brunei
5 Burundi
6 Chile
7 Comoros
8 Congo
9 Cote d’Ivoire
10 Cyprus
11 Czech Republic
12 Djibouti
13 Egypt
14 Fiji
15 Greece
16 Lesotho
17 Liechtenstein
18 Luxembourg
19 Mexico
20 Montenegro
21 Morocco
22 Niger
23 Peru
24 Philippines
25 Seychelles
26 Sweden
27 Timor-Leste
28 Togo
29 Turkey
30 United Kingdom
31 Yemen
Facebook Comments Box

Disclosure: This post can include affiliate links, which means that if you click a link and buy anything we suggested, we may earn a fee. Read more about Affiliate disclosure here.

I hope this post was helpful? show your support by sharing these articles to your friends and relatives who might need it on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram using the share button below.

Copyright & Warning: Published contents on this blog may not be reproduced, republished, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgment.

The contents on this site is written and published with good intentions. If you own this content and believe that your copyright was violated or infringed, please contact us via [admin(at)] or [coolieecoldex(at)] to file a complaint and actions will be taken with an immediate effect.

Leave a Reply